Gratitude Times Five


ImageAfter watching Oprah’s Life class about gratitude recently, I was deeply motivated to start a gratitude journal. At the end of each day as I climb into bed, I write down five things that I am grateful for and I am noticing a shift in my state of being. I am finding myself being present to the moment and enjoying even the simplest tasks like cleaning and shopping. In the Life class Tony Robins said, “ Fear and gratitude can not live in the same space.“ I even see that I am more comfortable in my own skin when Rob and I go out dancing; I dance with a new freedom. Yes, kind of like, no one is watching!

Sunday we went for a walk at our favorite walking spot, Walden Pond. We met and chatted with people along the way as we usually do. One such woman was French and when Rob spoke back to her in French, she came alive. She then gave him a card written in French and began teaching him how to read it correctly. She turned to me and handed me the same card in English. At the top of the card, it said GRACE. The word described how I had been feeling lately; like I was living in a state of grace. As Rob and I continued on our way, we decided to go get something to eat at Chipotle in Burlington. We went through the line and Rob was being his usual friendly self as he ordered his meal. We get to the register and the person, who happened to be the manager, says, “This meal is on me!” We were both surprised and grateful. After the meal, Rob took out a pen and began to write a thank you note on one of his business cards along with the offer for a free coaching session (Rob is a life and business coach). As he was writing the girl at the register came over, slipped a card on our table, and said, this is for you. The card read, “Share the Love” and on the other side, there was an offer to come back with five friends for a FREE meal on the house!

I don’t know about you, but I am seeing a pattern here and this is the five life lessons for me:

  1. Gratitude opens us to enjoy the present moment.
  2. Gratitude brings with it a real sense of personal freedom that pushes away fear.
  3. Gratitude allows for living in a state of grace.
  4. Gratitude perpetuates more gratitude.
  5. Gratitude leads to sharing the love.

“The single greatest thing you can do to change your life today would be to start being grateful for what you have right now,” Oprah says. “And the more grateful you are, the more you get.”

What five things are you grateful for? Write it down and see how your life shifts in five ways and then some!

About Colleen Sgroi

Teaching Artist from New England. View all posts by Colleen Sgroi

4 responses to “Gratitude Times Five

Leave a Reply

